Winsor & Newton Cotman Water Colour Sketchers Pocket Box Review

Hey all! I recently bought a Winsor & Newton Cotman Water Colour Sketchers Pocket Box from a local art store, and I thought I would share a review of it with you in case you are out on the watercolor hunt!

img_20170614_171234552-01-e1497489213889.jpeg

When I was deciding what set to purchase, it was a toss up between this and the Sakura XNCW-12h, 12 Assorted Watercolors Field Sketch Set with Brush, but the sales rep settled it by saying that the Winsor & Newton set was better quality. After using it for about a month, I must say that I am loving it! 

IMG_20170614_160213744-01The set comes with twelve removable pans of paint and a brush with a removable handle all inside a nifty little case with room to mix colors.

IMG_20170614_155921921-01

As you can see, unlike paints of lower quality, the Windsor & Newton colors enable you to make a thin wash without unintentional chalky layering, brush marks, and preschool- looking pigments.

IMG_20170614_163128842_BURST000_COVER_TOP-01

Additionally, when it comes to precision, the paint are creamy and very pigmented. As far as the included brush, it is fine quality but if you are a true watercolor enthusiast or an aspiring artist, you will eventually want to purchase additional brush sizes. I use my Sakura Medium Water Color Brush along side this set which is not only great for travel but expands my options as far as non-precise art goes. IMG_20170614_171214764-01

As an overview, I think that this set is a great buy! It is affordable enough for a dabbler in art such as myself, but will not limit a true artist. The only issue that I have incurred is that it does not include a black paint, which became a frustration so I bought a Cotman Watercolor Paint 8ml/Tube-Lamp Black  which appears to be even better than the set itself! Seriously, a dot of this stuff goes so far! So, if you are partial to tube watercolors, I feel confident in recommending the Winsor & Newton Cotman Water Color 12-Tube Set. I hope that you find this helpful in your decision making!

Cheers!

Stella

 

Leave a Reply

